Buyuk Imaret Mosque (Hatuniye/Ayse-Gulbahar Hatun Mosque-Centrum)
It was built for the sake of Ayse-Gulbahar Hatun, the mother of Yavuz Sultan Selim, in 1514. This mosque has a special place among Turkish buildings in Trabzon. It takes place among “Mosques with Small Lodges” group that forms a distinct plan type in early Ottoman Architecture.
Fatih Mosque (Ortahisar Mosque, Panaghia Chrysocephalos Church-Centrum)
The construction described as the most outstanding church of Trabzon is located in the subdistrict Ortahisar. It is assumed that it is constructed on an old Roman temple by Hanmibalianos, the nephew of Roman Emperor Constantine (325-364 AD). The church known as the “Cathedral of Comnen Civilization” was named as “Gold Head” in dedication to Virgin Mary. It was turned into a mosque after the Turks occupied Trabzon in 1461.
Ayasofya Church (Haghia Sophia Church-Centrum)
It is situated in a monastery complex. It is accepted that it was built in 1238- 1263 during the reign of Manuel I, one of the kings of the Comnenos Civilization in Trabzon. The chapel with four pillars and three abscissas on the north is older than the chapel. It was restored by the collaboration of Edinburgh University and General Directorate of Foundations in 1958-1962 and opened for touring as a museum in 1964. It has a successful stone working. It is rich in terms of stone embellishment and frescos.
Santa Maria Church (Centrum)
The church was constructed for foreign tourists to benefit from who visited Trabzon under the order of Sultan Abdulmecid in 1869-1874 and it continues its function today as well. Its rich adornments, St. Andrew, St. Peter and St. Eugenius depictions on north and west walls draw attraction.
Vazelon Monastery (Macka)
While the exact date of construction is unknown, some scholars argue that it might have been constructed between 270- 317 AD. The monastery repaired by the emperor Justinianus in 565 has experienced many repairs and renovations so far.
Sumela Monastery (Meryem Ana [Virgin Mary] Monastery-Macka)
It was built inside a cave in the middle of a hill as steep as a wall in the valley of River Meryem Ana and at a height of 250 meters from the valley bottom. The fascinating scenery reached after a difficult ascending is worth every effort. There are diverse hearsays about the first foundation of the monastery. According to a hearsay; Barnabas and his nephew took a picture said to be drawn by St. Luke and describing Virgin Mary and the childhood of Jesus Christ and they arrived Trabzon. After they gathered volunteer workers who would help them in constructing the monastery, they reached Degirmendere in the town Macka today. When monks who ascended to the steepest slopes of Kora Mountains found a cave from whose top water drips founded the monastery as a two-roomed construction (385 AD). Two-roomed monastery constructed by two monks was accepted as a holy temple by Christians who are from Catholic and Orthodox Sects after the death of the monks (around 412). The importance of Meryem Ana Monastery, the oldest Christian temple in the Black Sea Region, stems from the fact that it is a very interesting construction in a place having a unique beauty in the midst of nature and there are wall and ceiling adornments made in various ages. The monastery is composed of two parts. There is a worshipping place, a holy spring of Orthodox Greeks in the place where water drips from the rock in trio and 3-4 chapels in the first part. A religious service is carried out on the 14th of August every year. Restoration studies still continue in the monastery.